The board shall assist and advise the county manager and council by:

(1) applying for rural county grants pursuant to Utah Code Section 17-54-101, et. seq.;
(2) recommending which projects should be funded by grant money;
(3) preparing required reports for grant funding received;
(4) recommending ways and means of obtaining private, local, county, state, or federal funds and other participation for the promotion of economic development projects within the county; and
(5) working with county planning and economic development staff, committees, and other community-based issues and projects.


(1) The board shall consist of the following members, all appointed by the council:

(a) one member representing Tooele County;
(b) three members representing municipalities with the county, after having received recommendations from the Tooele County Council of Governments;
(c) one member representing workforce development;
(d) one member representing private-sector businesses; and
(e) one member of the public who lives in the county.

(2) Other than the county representative, Tooele County elected officials and employees, and their immediate family members, may not serve on the board.

Chair-Meetings – Quorum-Staff

(1) Board members shall elect a chair and vice chair at the first board meeting held each calendar year.
(2) The board shall meet as needed to fulfill its responsibilities, but shall meet at least twice annually.
(3) A majority of the board constitutes a quorum for the purpose of conducting board business, and the action of a majority of a quorum constitutes the action of the board.
(4) The county department of community development shall provide administrative support to the board.


The board shall report to the county manager and council.


Board members shall serve without compensation but may be reimbursed for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties.

Board Members

Brittany Lopez
Tooele County
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Debbie Winn
Tooele City
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Neil Critchlow, Vice Chair
Grantsville City Mayor
Term Expires: 12/31/2026

Craig Smith
Erda City Council
Term Expires: 12/31/2026

Brooke Coster
Workforce Development
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Stephanie Bothell
Private Sector
Term Expires: 12/31/2024

Tyson Hamilton, Chair
Term Expires: 12/31/2026